VSCO Cam App Review

I have a DSLR and I love it to death, but let’s face it, it’s not always the most fun to be carrying this heavy weight around your neck at all times. There have been many times when I’ve gone to just the grocery store and therefore, didn’t bother to bring my DSLR with me. However, I’ll often regret it because I’ll see the most beautiful, exquisite sunset in front of me and be like, “Dang it, I wish I brought DSLR with me.” This is where the phone comes in. However, we all know that pics on the phone are not as good as pics on the DSLR. This is where the VSCO cam comes in. Just utilizing the vsco cam alone makes a difference. The vsco cam intensifies the contrast, colors, and amps up the clarity, which makes for photo that looks less phonified (yes, I am aware that is not a word). Where the vsco cam shines though is in it’s filters. Their filters are absolutely stunning and bring a film, retro like quality back to photography. The only con is that I wish that more of them were free as there are a lot of filters that they have, but you have to pay :(.

However, where the VSCO cam fails is the social aspect of the app. You cannot like or comment on photos, the only way you can know who is interacting with your page is based on how many followers you might have. From what I understand, the intent of this was to bring the gallery like quality back to photography. People just go and look at photos, not pressing a button or saying a comment. I respect this viewpoint, but I think that people get to hung up (including myself at times) on how many followers they have. Users, in my opinion, will just be thinking about how many people are viewing their photography rather than using comments and critique to grow and learn as a photographer. Photography to me is a very social thing. We use photos to capture memories with our loved ones and express our feelings. Heck, there are even meetup groups for photographers and those who are professionals are constantly meeting new people, taking portraits and trying to infuse their personality into the photo, regardless of how well they know them. In fact, I believe that the current social media stratosphere doesn’t allow for as much socialization around photography as it should. A pure “viewing count” or “like” does not tell me what the person really thinks about my photo. Therefore, it is of my opinion that the VSCO cam app is good to utilize for editing photos but not sharing them.

Now here are some photos that I took with the VSCO cam app. If you’re viewing this on a laptop, the quality won’t be nearly as good, sorry. This is another aspect that technology needs to improve itself in :).

xoxo

Alex

Leave a Reply

