Opinion: Kim Kardashian and the Nude Selfie

I’m not a Kardashian fan. I find it kind of sickening that these reality stars get paid 10x more than someone who contributes a lot to society, such as a teacher or firefighter. They get paid to do nothing but complain about prima-donna problems all day, but that’s probably more of a reflection on what the American public values than the Kardashians themselves.

I could talk about what is wrong with this family all day long, but I do not want to write a hate post on the Kardashians. However, I do want to talk about something that’s been circulating the news. Lately, Kim Kardashian has been posting nude selfies of herself on Instagram, proclaiming it to be female empowerment.

This isn’t really anything new. As you might recall last year, she was on the cover of a magazine, baring all in its photoshopped glory. While that photo in particular was a distasteful nude, my general problem isn’t with the nudity. It’s the way she justifying it as an act of empowerment because she is owning her sexuality. Kim recently openly penned a letter that had many laughable contradictions, one of them being, “I am empowered by my body. I am empowered by my sexuality. I am empowered by feeling comfortable in my skin. I am empowered by showing the world my flaws and not being afraid of what anyone is going to say about me”. I’m sorry but if she was comfortable in her own skin and wasn’t afraid to show her flaws, the second black and white photo wouldn’t have been as heavily airbrushed and not have looked ‘perfect’. In this photo, her hair is perfect, makeup perfect, and has what the media portrays as ‘the perfect body’. Look, maybe Kim Kardashian has super genes, I don’t know, but she just had a second baby and I’m sure that her tight abs were either photoshopped or that she had plastic surgery. The vast majority of women do not look like this shortly after having children. If she was really not afraid to show her flaws, she would not look like she was ready to go to the Oscars, but naked (and wouldn’t of that have that been a hoot!).

In my opinion, she is using female empowerment as a mask for using Instagram as an attention-seeking, self-serving platform. She is doing this for publicity/her own narcissistic needs; not to empower herself, her daughter, or other women. I personally do not have a problem with tasteful nude photography.When photography is used to show humans in their most raw and natural form, it can be extremely powerful and beautiful. However, taking an ugly, sexualized  bathroom selfie and then posting another photo where you’re airbrushed for personal gain is not.

My question for Kim is: why not use International Women’s Day to spread awareness about female pay inequality,  the gender gap in certain professions, girls not being given the right to an education, the worldwide violence against women, human trafficking, or the countless other injustices women have to face around the world daily?! Why use International Women’s Day instead to post naked pictures of yourself, using no message other than ‘be proud of your body as long you Photoshop, have a hair blowout, and do your makeup first.”, and then slapping the hashtag “Happy International Women’s Day” all over it. I’m sorry Kim, but you’re instead making it “Happy International Kim Kardashian Day”. Are women who are struggling with body image going to be in the news more because of this? No, you will be. And if they are, they’ll be talking about  you as a contributor.

What do you think about this topic? Do you agree with me or have a different opinion? I’m all ears!

-Alex

 

2 thoughts on “Opinion: Kim Kardashian and the Nude Selfie

  1. Amen! My thoughts exactly.Narcissistic self-promotion by Kim, not political activism on behalf of women!! I hope that Kim matures enough one day to use her celebrity for some cause bigger than herself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

