How To Make Food You Don’t Like Yummy

I love chia pudding. It is my belief that the Dairy-Free and Soy-Free Gods and Goddesses came together and concocted this amazing pudding for those who have allergies. It’s genius if you think about it. Seeds chilled overnight and bam, you have something of a pudding like texture! Yup, chia pudding is my jam and I’m not ashamed. However, I do not like mango chia pudding. I enjoy mango just as much as the next person, but pureed mango flavor and chia seeds just don’t mix.

To make a long story short, everyone in my family was really sick and I decided to pick out some chia pudding to soothe everyone’s throat. However, all they had left was the mango flavor, so I picked some up for my mother, who likes the mango. However, once I brought it home, she said it was a big no-no food for digestive tract at the time, so there it sat in the fridge. Fast forward to a week later and the fridge is empty, the only breakfast food there being mango chia pudding. Instead of starving or relying on potato chips to give me energy to start my day, I decided to make it work and turn this food that I didn’t like into some sort of delicacy that would make the French jealous. Okay, maybe we shouldn’t go that far, but you get the point.

Drum roll please…….

I made a fruit and nut filled mango chia pudding instead. Here’s a magazine worthy picture!

Mango chia pudding.jpg

Nature’s Candy That I Used: Mango chunks (yes I’m aware that this an ironic ingredient, but it tasted great), cantaloupe, pecans, dried figs, and a handful of golden raisins. I also put about a teaspoon of coconut sugar in (a natural sugar-free substitute that doesn’t give you that crash. It taste a lot like brown sugar and your mind/body will thank you for using it later).

This turned out to be one of the best meals that I had in weeks and I started to not mind the mango flavor at all because it was melded in with other stuff. Sometimes, you just have to take what’s in your kitchen and make something out of nothing, get my drift? A little bit of creativity can go a long way!

How do you get creative in the kitchen? Is there an instance where you took a food you didn’t really like and made it into something delicious or at least palatable?

 

 

Leave a Reply

