Your Gluten-Free Bagel Doesn’t Have To Be Boring

I am a huge fan of bagels, lox, and cream cheese don’t get my wrong. However, I can’t eat cream cheese anymore because of my dairy allergy. Therefore, you have to get creative!

This recipe is based on a breakfast I had in a restaurant at a ski resort I went to at age 10.  Unfortunately, the ski vacation was terrible because it was too bitter cold to ski (below zero most days) and the accommodations were atrocious. It is somewhat depressing to say that discovering this unique bagel concoction was the highlight of our trip. We loved this bagel so much that we continued to make it at home and modified it throughout the years to both our liking and allergy needs. Without further adieu, here’s how to make “Your Gluten-Free Bagel Doesn’t Have To Be Boring”

Bagel

Ingredients:

Your gluten-free everything bagel of choice (or non-gluten-free bagel if you aren’t gf)

Hummus

Lox

Pea shoots or sprouts of choice

Lox

Cayenne Pepper

This recipe is so easy that you don’t really need step by step instructions on how to do it, it’s pretty self-explanatory :P. My only suggestion is that you put a dab of hummus on your plate and then mix in the cayenne pepper before putting it on the bagel. I also have really enjoyed this recipe with a few red onions in it; however, I did not have any hand.

What’s your favorite way to eat your bagel? Also, let me know if you decided to try this bagel recipe and what the outcome was :).

xoxo

Alex

Leave a Reply

