Part II of the Snowflake Series: Winter Favorites

For part II of the Snowflake Series, I’m going to be compiling a list of my winter favorites. Some things just make getting through the winter just a wee-bit easier and these are my favorites that always get me into a good winter mood. Without further adieu, let’s get started.

Skincare: I don’t use a lot of skincare products because I’ve been blessed to have pretty clear skin. However, my skin does tend to be on the drier side, so there are two things I like to use to moisturize. The first product I like to use jojoba oil. This oil always gives me the most beautiful glow and is also the perfect base to blend your makeup with (my extremely dry skin makes it difficult to put blush on without me looking like a clown, lol). I actually like to use this product all year round, but especially during the winter time. My new current favorite is the Nubian Heritage Indian Hemp and Haitian Vetiver Body Lotion   I mostly use this on my face, neck, and chest area. The scent of this body butter is very calming to my system and makes my skin feel less tight. I tend to like to put on this butter before bed for a peaceful sleep. So yeah, if you have dry skin, I definitely recommend this butter.

Fashion: SWEATERS AND CARDIGANS! I live in these during the winter. I get cold like nobody’s business, so staying warm and comfortable is my number one priority. I recently got this new sweater from H & M , which is my absolute favorite. I love how it’s not overly decorated enough that it can go with anybody, but yet it also has this fashionable winter print on the sleeves. The many different tones of blue and neutral winter colors is very calming for some reason that I can’t explain. My #1 tip for winter shopping is don’t settle with so-called long sleeved tops that are made with cheap thin fabric, get clothes that will make you not want to jump to spring and enjoy the pleasures of winter instead.

Movies: I love old classic books that are turned into movies during the winter. Here are my favorite winter movies:

Anne of Green Gables Trilogy : I’m ashamed to say that I’ve never read the books, but the Anne of Green Gables movies have always been a favorite of mine since I was a little girl. Anne was a character that always inspired and resonated with me as a kid. This trilogy definitely helped me during my teen years whenever I felt lost or when I felt nobody got me (and even to this day). The acting in this series is impeccable and the filmography of the movies is absolutley exquisite. You would never know that it wasn’t filled in Prince Edward Island. Not to mention, the winter scenes that were shot always looked so beautiful and actually made me WANT winter to come whenever I watched this movie during a different season. I mean, how could a Victorian Christmas Ball not make you want winter to come?

Little Women: This was always my favorite movie as a little girl. I think I’ve watched this movie at least 30 times. Once again, all of the sisters in this book (and Marmie!) are so inspiring and I love how they are all imperfect, but at the end of the day are wonderful people who you can look up to. Often times during the winter, we can feel down about ourselves and feel like our imperfections outweigh our good traits. However, Little Women is a great pick me up that makes you realize that your imperfections are what make you beautiful. We don’t love Jo March because she’s perfect, we love her because she is multi-dimensional. Plus, once again, the winter scenes are shot so beautifully, that it makes you want go outside and embrace winter into a big hug.

My Winter Jam at the Moment: River by Sarah Mclachlan   Luka by Suzanne Vega  Goddess by BANKS  Breathe In by Amarante Liquid Diamonds by Tori Amos  Carnival by Natalie Merchant I See Fire by Ed Sheeran (Kygo Remix)  Human Behavior by Bjork  Full of Grace by Sarah Mclachlan Trains and Winter Rains by Enya

Favorite Winter Sport: By far skiing! I learned how to ski when I was 4 and it is one of the most exhilarating and fulfilling things I’ve ever done. My soul is also always struck by the movie picture perfect beauty at the top of the mountain. However, I haven’t been in years because it’s extremely $$$. I hope that one of these days I can go skiing again :).

 A Winter Recipe That I Want To Try: HEARTY GREENS SOUP WITH BOWTIE PASTA AND TOMATOES

Question for my readers; has anyone even found gluten-free bowtie pasta??? I’ve been gluten-free for 5+ years and I have yet to find any.

My Favorite Winter Photograph Taken By Me: 820875_211418289004874_548963955_o

That’s all for now! What are some of your winter favorites? Are any of what I mentioned your winter favorites?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

