Healthy Holiday Treats

Do you keep feeling tempted to munch on all of the amazing goodness that are cookies, cakes, and other treats,  but on the inside it is really processed franken crapola? You say, “This one piece of dessert today won’t hurt me, what’s one day going to do, kill me?!”. But then, one day becomes seven days and one dessert a day becomes five desserts  a day and so on and so on. That sh*t is addicting, ha-ha!  However, worry no more as I have some salivating alternatives that are so awesome that you won’t even want to eat regular, heavily processed, store bought desserts  anymore. These treats will be sure to satisfy any cravings you have during the holidays for years to come.

Trader Joe’s Snickerdoodles:

To prevent getting sued, I should probably let y’all know that I didn’t take this photo and found it on the net. Even writing this disclaimer probably wouldn’t prevent me getting sued, because anybody can get sued for anything these days; but it makes me feel better about doing it, ha-ha.

These cookies are literally to die for. The moment you put one in you mouth, it burst with cinnamon flavor.  They are also extremely soft and gooey, almost like eating baked cookie dough if there is such a thing, ha-ha. They are truly the best things ever and even better yet, they are free of of the eight most common allergens, so everyone can enjoy them without feeling icky afterwards. They are so delectable and they don’t even taste eight-allergen free! It’s so hard to restrain myself when it comes to these cookies as I pretty much want to eat the whole box. However, they are fun to have as a ‘healthy’ treat once and awhile and I’m sure that once you taste these, you will never want to eat another heavily processed cookie again.

Trader Joe’s Organic Brown Rice Marshmallow Treats:

Once again, not my photo, but I don’t think that this photo is that all fantastic or unique that I’ll get sued for it. Unless the person is a pompous ass or something.

I’ve been having these marshmallow treats for years and they are insanely good. Instead of grabbing a heavily processed, 80% fake rice crispie, go for one of these instead. They have an extremely pleasant taste and are also a convenient snack to take on the go. In addition to being organic, they are also gluten and dairy-free, so those with allergies can enjoy them as well. They are also fairly low in sugar with only 7g per bar instead of a big whopping number like 20! Don’t you just hate that? When a treat the size of your thumb regardless of being ‘healthy’ or not turns out to have a butt-load of cane sugar?! It’s the worst. Okay, maybe not the worst, but it is awfully disappointing. And I can safely say that 1-2 of these should satisfy your rice crispie craving, so you won’t be getting some humongous sugar hit, ha-ha. While they are not as ooey-gooey as rice crispies, they have their own unique taste to them and you and/or your kids will learn to prefer these over the 80% fake rice crispie bar. Try them, you won’t regret it!

Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Nutty Bits:

Image is from Amazon not my photo. Amazon please don’t sue me.

It is is of my belief that chocolate lovers will rejoice once they try these things for the 1st time. It will be like losing your virginity to chocolate all over again, ha-ha! These nutty bits deserve some type of reward, seriously. The combination of the bitter dark chocolate chocolate, pistachio/almonds (as well as one other nut that I’m probably forgetting about, sorry nut), and coating of salt is so heavenly, you will never want to stop chewing on it. Okay, you are going to want to stop eventually as that’s just wicked weird, but it will be difficult, trust me. They are also extremely low in cane sugar (I think that two big pieces are worth 6g of sugar, but I’m not positive), so they are perfect if you are trying to cut back on sugar and are trying to fight those cravings. This treat is life and much better than all the other chocolates out thee. I’m sure you all will love it.

Heavenly Organics Chocolate Patties:

Not my photo, just to let y’all know

These patties are exactly what the product name proclaims…simply heavenly! These chocolate treats are filled with ooey gooey honey and all sorts of amazing flavor combinations; whether you are a honey ginger, honey peppermint, honey pomegranate, or honey almond person you will find your pattie. These chocolates have no cane sugar in them, so they are especially perfect for those who are trying to cut back on sugar. They are super fun to eat and taste best when refrigerated! I can’t think of one person who wouldn’t like this treat, unless you don’t like chocolate or something. I have yet to meet someone though who doesn’t like chocolate, except for me when I was 5-6. For some reason as a little girl, I hated chocolate and I don’t know what was wrong with me back then. My Mom and I actually just talked about this and she said that she was actually grateful because she thought that I wouldn’t be afflicted like her with supreme chocolate love. Well, times have changed, and I wouldn’t quite say that I’m afflicted, but during Halloween I’m just about there.

Have any of you guys tried these healthy holiday treats? If not, which ones would you want to try?

Happy Early Holidays!

Alex

Leave a Reply

