Green Beauty Makeup Looks

As a part of living a healthy lifestyle, I like to use as many green beauty products as I can. “Why is that?” you might ask, “How much damage can a little bit of lipstick do?” Well, it turns out my friends that our skin is our biggest organ and 70% of what we put on gets absorbed into our bloodstream. So yeah folks, it’s a big deal. Additionally, I’m one of thee most sensitive people in the world out there and react to the chemicals in mainstream makeup, even the ‘hypoallergenic’ stuff. Plus, why would I want to put things like parabens, phthalates, synthetic fragrance, petroleum, FD and C colors, as well as countless other chemical names that I cannot pronounce nor we know that much about near my skin?  I’ll pass on the chemical cocktail, thanks. If you want to learn more about what you’re putting into your skin, here’s a good link from Organic Beauty Talk.

Lucky for me, there are tons of green beauty brands out there, literally so many, it’s sort of shocking. I didn’t start realizing how big of demand there was for green beauty products until I looked more into it on the web. I can’t say that I’m the biggest makeup wearer of all time, most days I like going barefaced. However, a few times a week when I’m going out it can be fun. Plus the process of putting on makeup is sort of stress relieving in an odd sort of way, ha-ha!

Now here are some green beauty looks I created this past week. Hope you enjoy them!

fall makeup

mssss

Green Beauty Look #1:
Eyes: Most people I know start out by putting on their face makeup and do the eyes last, but I always like to do the eyes first. Why? Because I absolutley hate getting eye shadow on my already done blushed cheeks and then having to wipe some of it off and reapply again. I like dealing with fallout from eye products first so the rest of the process is easy peasy lemon squeezy :). For this look, I knew ahead of time that I was going to be doing a bold lip, so I wanted a very simple eye look to balance it out. It’s kind of like the yin and yang of makeup, ya know?! Anyways, I decided to forgo the eye-shadow and just put on eyeliner. I used the \Honeybee Gardens JobaColors Pencil Eye Liner in Jet Set and made it thicker along the beginning of my lash-line, actually starting a little bit beyond that, and then going smaller and smaller as I went down my lash-line. I then put  on a like 1/4 of eyeliner at the beginning of my lower lash line to widen my eyes a little bit. This eyeliner does smudge and make you look like a raccoon at the end of the day, but I have yet to find a pencil eyeliner that doesn’t do this. Overall though, it’s a pretty good product that is easy to apply and doesn’t smudge all over the place when you first put it on, a problem I’ve had with eyeliners in the past. After applying my eyeliner, I put on some mascara to really make my eyes pop. I used the Physicians Formula Organic Wear 100% Natural Origin Fakeout Mascara and I really love this product. You can easily purchase it at your local drugstore, it’s very inexpensive for natural makeup, and the ingredients are decent. There isn’t a lot of fallout from this product, especially at the end of the day, which I’m impressed with and it doesn’t make my eyelashes look spider webby, particularly on the bottom lashes. Overall, I’d totally recommend these products! :).

Cheeks: My cheeks I believe are one of my strongest features. I have high cheekbones, so I like showing them off with blush, especially since I’m pretty pale. My favorite, and pretty much the only blush I’ll ever use is the Vapour Organic Beauty Multi-Use Blush Stain in Lure which Vapour describes as a ‘plummy berry’. The thing that I love the most about this blush is that it looks more like a natural flesh on the cheeks rather than someone caking on a bunch of blush. It will give you rosy cheeks in the most beautiful way that does not look over done at all. This color is especially good for people with wicked fair skin with neutral undertones, like me. It looks a lot darker in the tube than it does in real life, but be careful not to apply to much, or otherwise you’ll look like a clown. I always put on jojoba oil on my cheeks before putting it on, because otherwise it will not blend well. However, I do not think that this is a fault of the product as I have very dry skin already. Then I put the color along the highest points/sides of my cheekbones and then rub it along the cheekbone to the apples of cheeks. I like putting more blush towards the sides of my cheeks rather than the apple to create a gradient effect. This prevents you from having clownish cheeks and instead gives you the most gorgeous flesh. For this look, however, I did put a bit more on the apples of my cheeks, as I really wanted that ‘rosy cheek’ look and I wasn’t putting a lot on my eyes.

Lips; For the lips I used the Vapour Lure Multi-Use Stain on my lips as well and I don’t like it as much on my lips as my cheeks, but the color is a good one for me. On my lips, it’s a unique blend of a warm mauve with hints of berry. It’s great to wear alone, but for this look, I wanted a bolder lip, so I used a chemically laden NYC lipstick that I only use for theatrical productions, to give it more of a fire engine berry look. The only reason I’d use something as bad as an NYC lipstick is because I don’t have a non-toxic red lipstick yet. Suggestions ladies? I know that fire engine berry sounds like an odd color combination, but it looks cool on the lips. I think this combo is wicked pretty and really brightens up the face, especially if you’re pale like me :).

Green Beauty Look 2:

hiyaya

I absolutley love this look; love, love, love it. I think it’s perfect for any season, fall, spring, winter, you name it and it really highlights your best features.

Eyes: For the eyes, I started off by putting on a Jane Iredale pressed eye shadow that is a beautiful, neutral shade called walnut that they sadly no longer carry. Jane Iredale pressed eye shadows stay on all day, don’t diminish in color easily, does not crease all that much, and is easy to blend. They also don’t really irritate my eyes, which is awesome, because everything irritates my eyes, especially when I first put it on, ha-ha. I’m literally the world’s most sensitive person I think. I wish that they still carried this color as it’s the perfect neutral for me. I want to buy more Jane Iredale pressed eye shadows, but now they make them with fd and c dyes,which I don’t like. There is absolutley  no way to tell which ones have it or not because it has that may contain +- at the bottom, which applies to all of the eyeshadows, grrrfff.  Maybe I should just go and choose the least colorful ones? Haha, I don’t know, it’s super duper confusuling and frustrating. Even if with pretty respectable companies, like Jane Iredale, I wish that they’d let us know which ones had dyes in them, so people like me who do not like dyes can avoid them. I don’t see why it’s so hard to list which individual ones have it. *Sigh*.  Anyways, after I put on my lovely eye shadow, I put on my Gabriel Eyeliner in Navy. The color of this eyeliner is a bit deceptive, because the further away you put it on from the lash line, it’s going to look more like a bright blue. However, when you get close to the lash line, it does look like a true navy. I love using this navy color because it’s less harsh than black and I think it looks really unique with a neutral brown color. I wish that I would’ve gotten a more closeup picture, so you could see more of the blue color. However, I think that this picture is proof that you can wear a bold blue color and do it in a more subtle way that is not shocking to the system, ha-ha. For this look, I stayed really close to my lash line on the top, so that it’d look more like a navy color. On my lower lash line though,  I put a light coat on to let some of the true bright blue ‘pop’. I also finished the eyes off with the Physicians Formula Organic Wear Mascara.

Cheeks: Did the same thing as the first green beauty look, with the same exact blush. I never switch up my blush, ha-ha.

Lips: I used the Vapour Organic Beauty Multi-Use Stain in Lure for my lips as well, as well as put a coat of an Aubrey Organic Lip Tint (they sadly no longer make lip tints, anymore) on top. This lip tint is a beautiful pink, strawberry color that really moisturizes and makes your lips shine. It also smells absolutley delectable and does not have that awful lipsticky taste. Too bad they don’t make them anymore :(.

Oh and for those of you who are interested in where my hat came from it is from Forever 21. It is a huge statement hat, but surprisingly looks good one me even though it is wicked big. Big hats usually don’t look that great on me because I have a small head, ha-ha.

Those are my green beauty looks of the week! Do any of you guys use these products? Which look is your favorite, 1 or 2?

-Alex

4 thoughts on “Green Beauty Makeup Looks

Leave a Reply

